Committee Member Profiles

Malcolm Kerr - President

Malcolm is the chairperson of The Shire Future’s Project Committee and is was his initiative that led to the formation of the group.

As the former MLA for Cronulla Malcolm has a deep and passionate knowledge and understanding of The Shire and brings a commitment to a change culture that will make The Shire an even better place. With a wealth of high profile local contacts through his many years as a State Member of Parliament, Malcolm has enabled opportunities to be developed and enhanced as the project evolves.

Johnny Pace - Public Officer

Johnny Pace is an exceptional speaker and motivator bringing a wealth of experience and knowledge from his perspectives and analyses of humour in all its manifestations. With over thirty years of successful experience in the arts of humour and comedy, together with a generous measure of articulate enthusiasm, Johnny brings much wisdom to The Shire Future’s Project Committee The combination of his corporate experience, creative ability and theatrical knowledge is reflected by the obvious joy Johnny possesses in making every day of his life a winner

Bob Birkhead - Secretary

Bob serves as the secretary of The Shire Future’s Project Committee and has been very active in community activities through his involvement with a broad range of community organisations, as well as having served on local sporting committees including being a past Director of Sutherland Basketball Association.

Bob brings a wealth of senior commercial experience to the Committee and is also a current presenter on 2SSR FM 99.7 – The Shire’s Community Radio Station, where he regularly conducts live interviews to support local community organisations

Michael Forshaw - Vice President

Michael Forshaw is a former Senator for NSW serving in the Australian Parliament from 1994 until he retired in June 2011.

Michael attended school in Cronulla and then graduated with Arts (Honours) from the University of Sydney in 1974 and Law from the University of NSW in 1984. He was admitted as a Barrister in 1985. Michael has been a lifelong Shire resident and is a strong supporter of many local organisations. Throughout his career Michael has been actively involved in representing and promoting the Shire.

Leonard Yong - Treasurer

Leonard Yong is a specialist in corporate governance and risk management systems / processes, having carried out numerous reviews and audits of pension funds, banking and funds management systems in Sydney, London and New York. He holds a Master's Degree in Accounting Studies from the University of Wollongong.

He is a chartered accountant, Fellow member of the CPA Australia, senior member of the Australian Computer Society and a former councillor of the Institute of Internal Auditors. He is the former Chief Internal Auditor at the Australian Industry Development Corporation (AIDC). Leonard is the author of the books entitled "Lessons in Corporate Governance from the Global Financial Crisis" and "Confucius Says No".


Arts, Culture & Entertainment       

Johnny Pace - Chair                                    

Bob Birkhead

Michael Forshaw            

Business & Economic Activity                                                      

Malcolm Kerr - Chair    

Michael Forshaw   

Leonard Yong                                  

Joanne Ryan


Community Services & Welfare

Ken Marslew - Chair

Bob Birkhead


Sports & Leisure

Colleen Corkeron - Chair

Keith Ward                                              

Bill Gilmour

John Watkins

Michael Schnabel


Youth & Education

Mark Mackay

Ken Marslew

Colleen Corkeron

Colleen Corkeron is a very experienced Sports Administrator and brings a wealth of knowledge about Sports Strategy to The Shire Futures' Project Inc.

Colleen has been General Manager of NSW Basketball Association as well as being General Manager of Sutherland Basketball Association & Stadium, Auburn Basketball Centre and Parramatta Basketball Association.

During difficult times in the sport of basketball, Colleen has played a very significant role in guiding the activities of both the NSW Basketball Association and the Sydney Basketball Council.

Colleen continues her active involvement in sports by being a member of a number of Basketball Boards.

Keith Ward - Public Officer

Keith Ward has lived most of his life in the Sutherland Shire. Over the years he has held executive committee positions with Cronulla RSL Youth Club, Cronulla RSL Soccer Club and is currently on the executive of the Sutherland Shire Football Association and the Sharks International Water Polo Academy. He is also a past director of the Cronulla Sutherland Rugby League Club and Leagues Club.

He is currently a director with a funds management company and hashad a long career in banking and finance.